Page 1 of 2 12 Last»
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    Maderator's Avatar
    Status
    Maderator is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,882
    Location
    South Australia
    Awake O.O
     

    Taking IT Requests

    I felt that something like this was needed.

    If you have any problems or need help with a computer, PC or Mac, i will do the best i can to help.

    Just ask me and i will go for it, if i cant fix it than i suggest turning it on then off again...

     
         

  2. #2
    Member AFGBabeey's Avatar
    Status
    AFGBabeey is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    160
    This user has no status.
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Why can't i uninstall cod4 from my computer? -_-
    It's like bugged, zzz.
     
         

  3. #3
    Maderator's Avatar
    Status
    Maderator is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,882
    Location
    South Australia
    Awake O.O
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Quote Originally Posted by AFGBabeey View Post
    Why can't i uninstall cod4 from my computer? -_-
    It's like bugged, zzz.
    Mac or PC?

    And what operating system?
     
         
    Last edited by Maderator; 07-23-2012 at 11:50 AM.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Status
    Chojuro Sama Kun is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2,372
    This user has no status.
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Hey bro, how come my numbers won't work when i press them.
     
         

  5. #5
    SQY's Avatar
    Status
    SQY is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    2,932
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Lurking popular threads with
    my stupid opinions
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    My computer exploded and then pissed on itself?
    What the hell?



    OT: Joke, but nice for helping people +Rep
     
         

  6. #6
    Member AFGBabeey's Avatar
    Status
    AFGBabeey is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    160
    This user has no status.
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    PC Windows 7 64 bit
     
         

  7. #7
    Maderator's Avatar
    Status
    Maderator is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,882
    Location
    South Australia
    Awake O.O
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Quote Originally Posted by Chojuro Sama Kun View Post
    Hey bro, how come my numbers won't work when i press them.
    Numbers as in the num pad on the side of your keyboard?

    Make sure that you have num lock on, its the button in the top left of the numpad, it needs to be on for them to work.

    If this dont work and its a laptop keyboard, it may be your keyboard mapping or a hardware problem. If its a normal PC keyboard than again it could be the same problem, but you can eliminate mapping problems if it works with another keyboard.


    Quote Originally Posted by Skarm View Post
    My computer exploded and then pissed on itself?
    What the hell?

    OT: Joke, but nice for helping people +Rep
    You must have been using Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by AFGBabeey View Post
    PC Windows 7 64 bit
    Okay so it could be for a bunch of reasons.

    First things first make sure you have administrator privileges when you try to uninstall it. If this is not the problem, than there is an error in the registry for that program and the best way of fixing it is a manual uninstall. Here is some information on what that involves.

    If that doesn't suit your needs than you can always do it the dodgey way by simply deleting the files off your harddrive but i wouldn't recommend it.
     
         
    Last edited by Maderator; 07-23-2012 at 12:00 PM.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Status
    Chojuro Sama Kun is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2,372
    This user has no status.
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Quote Originally Posted by Maderator View Post
    Numbers as in the num pad on the side of your keyboard?

    Make sure that you have num lock on, its the button in the top left of the numpad, it needs to be on for them to work.

    If this dont work and its a laptop keyboard, it may be your keyboard mapping or a hardware problem. If its a normal PC keyboard than again it could be the same problem, but you can eliminate mapping problems if it works with another keyboard.
    Thanks bro it helps alot rep+
     
         

  9. #9
    Maderator's Avatar
    Status
    Maderator is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,882
    Location
    South Australia
    Awake O.O
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Quote Originally Posted by Chojuro Sama Kun View Post
    Thanks bro it helps alot rep+
    No problem mate, just happy to keep the IT forums alive :D

    Do i have any more takers?
     
         
    Last edited by Maderator; 07-23-2012 at 12:04 PM.

  10. #10
    Member AFGBabeey's Avatar
    Status
    AFGBabeey is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    160
    This user has no status.
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Thanks babe.
     
         

  11. #11
    Freak bukeski08's Avatar
    Status
    bukeski08 is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    41
    Location
    Activate Byakugan towards 12 o'clock
    This user has no status.
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    My windows 7 64bit toshiba laptop shows a light green blank screen after logon. No taskbar or windows explorer. I cnt open any program. I cn open tsk mngr wit ctrl alt del, open d New task dialog box, but dats as far as it goes, cnt go beyond dat. It started dis mrnin. Nid help pls
     
         

  12. #12
    Maderator's Avatar
    Status
    Maderator is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,882
    Location
    South Australia
    Awake O.O
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Quote Originally Posted by AFGBabeey View Post
    Thanks babe.
    No problem hon


    Quote Originally Posted by bukeski08 View Post
    My windows 7 64bit toshiba laptop shows a light green blank screen after logon. No taskbar or windows explorer. I cnt open any program. I cn open tsk mngr wit ctrl alt del, open d New task dialog box, but dats as far as it goes, cnt go beyond dat. It started dis mrnin. Nid help pls
    Okay, the green is either because your graphics card is sending signals to the screen that it shouldn't, and needs to be fixed. Or your screen is broken.

    To decide between the two, try plugging in an external screen, if you get normal functioning than its just your laptop screen, if you dont it may be more serious.

    If you have been using your laptop for long periods in hot temperatures, it may be damage cause by overheating and may or may not diminish over time. Give it a day or too, if nothing changes, than it is either something wrong with the graphics card or some other hardware that is related.

    Luckily for you, there is little indication that your harddrive is damaged, as then the output would be different to a green screen, so if your laptop is totaled, than your files will be recoverable if you get someone you know and trust to take it out for you and copy it into their PC.

    Hope that helps. Failing that you seriously need to try turning it off and on again, you would be surprised how much that can help
     
         
    Last edited by Maderator; 07-23-2012 at 12:18 PM.

  13. #13
    Dragon User yousufnaruto's Avatar
    Status
    yousufnaruto is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    262
    Location
    Behind You!!
    This user has no status.
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Quote Originally Posted by Maderator View Post
    Okay so it could be for a bunch of reasons.

    First things first make sure you have administrator privileges when you try to uninstall it. If this is not the problem, than there is an error in the registry for that program and the best way of fixing it is a manual uninstall. Here is some information on what that involves.

    If that doesn't suit your needs than you can always do it the dodgey way by simply deleting the files off your harddrive but i wouldn't recommend it.


    There is also one more way to uninstall a stubborn file or program is by using a software called unlocker which can delete any file.
     
         

  14. #14
    Member fraz's Avatar
    Status
    fraz is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    377
    This user has no status.
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    im a technician in real life its my job i know pretty much everything about electronics need help contact me anytime if your choosing and comparing an electronic i can tell you whats better easily like ps3 or xbox a sony or mac etc
     
         

  15. #15
    Maderator's Avatar
    Status
    Maderator is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,882
    Location
    South Australia
    Awake O.O
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Quote Originally Posted by yousufnaruto View Post
    There is also one more way to uninstall a stubborn file or program is by using a software called unlocker which can delete any file.
    Yes that also is worth using if you need to manual delete if what i have already suggested does not work. Thanks for the assist
     
         

  16. #16
    Freak bukeski08's Avatar
    Status
    bukeski08 is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    41
    Location
    Activate Byakugan towards 12 o'clock
    This user has no status.
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Quote Originally Posted by Maderator View Post
    No problem hon




    Okay, the green is either because your graphics card is sending signals to the screen that it shouldn't, and needs to be fixed. Or your screen is broken.

    To decide between the two, try plugging in an external screen, if you get normal functioning than its just your laptop screen, if you dont it may be more serious.

    If you have been using your laptop for long periods in hot temperatures, it may be damage cause by overheating and may or may not diminish over time. Give it a day or too, if nothing changes, than it is either something wrong with the graphics card or some other hardware that is related.

    Luckily for you, there is little indication that your harddrive is damaged, as then the output would be different to a green screen, so if your laptop is totaled, than your files will be recoverable if you get someone you know and trust to take it out for you and copy it into their PC.

    Hope that helps. Failing that you seriously need to try turning it off and on again, you would be surprised how much that can help
    d screensaver starts up if its idle 4 a while. D logon screen whr i type in my password is also ok, beyond dat point, d problem starts.
     
         

  17. #17
    Maderator's Avatar
    Status
    Maderator is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,882
    Location
    South Australia
    Awake O.O
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Quote Originally Posted by bukeski08 View Post
    d screensaver starts up if its idle 4 a while. D logon screen whr i type in my password is also ok, beyond dat point, d problem starts.
    Hmmm, sounds like something to do with either dodgey internal wiring that is moving after a certain amount of heat, or a problem with your hardware. Apart from testing it while connected to an external screen, there isnt much you can do apart from get a warranty replacement or have it looked at by a local professional. As any further diagnostics would render your warranty useless and cant really be one over the internet properly.

    Make sure you get any files taken off your harddrive by whoever helps you though.
     
         

  18. #18
    Braaaaiiiins Zombie's Avatar
    Status
    Zombie is offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2,547
    Avatar courtesy of Zise!
     



    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Every time I try to install mono-gac from the Debian repos, I end up with broken packages and dependency issues (obviously as root).

    Running Wheezy (testing), 32 bit, GNU/Linux kernel 3.2.0-2-686-pae

    Inevitably, I am forced to go to /var/lib/dpkg/info and delete all broken files pertaining to mono-gac

    neither apt-get install -f or dpkg --configure -a provide any results.

    I'm wondering if downloading all the required files and manually compiling them would wield better results? I require mono-gac to run certain files inside of wine among other things and do not feel like waiting to see if the packages will be corrected.
     
         

  19. #19
    Maderator's Avatar
    Status
    Maderator is offline
    Gender
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,882
    Location
    South Australia
    Awake O.O
     

    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Quote Originally Posted by Zombie View Post
    Every time I try to install mono-gac from the Debian repos, I end up with broken packages and dependency issues (obviously as root).

    Running Wheezy (testing), 32 bit, GNU/Linux kernel 3.2.0-2-686-pae

    Inevitably, I am forced to go to /var/lib/dpkg/info and delete all broken files pertaining to mono-gac

    neither apt-get install -f or dpkg --configure -a provide any results.

    I'm wondering if downloading all the required files and manually compiling them would wield better results? I require mono-gac to run certain files inside of wine among other things and do not feel like waiting to see if the packages will be corrected.
    Unfortunately i dont have much experience with Linux, but what you have suggested seems reasonable to me. From what i understand if you have broken files in a code like that, a manual compilation wouldn't hurt as long as you know what you are doing. I am sure that you are probably better off with Linux than i am.
     
         

  20. #20
    Braaaaiiiins Zombie's Avatar
    Status
    Zombie is offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2,547
    Avatar courtesy of Zise!
     



    Re: Taking IT Requests

    Quote Originally Posted by Maderator View Post
    Unfortunately i dont have much experience with Linux, but what you have suggested seems reasonable to me. From what i understand if you have broken files in a code like that, a manual compilation wouldn't hurt as long as you know what you are doing. I am sure that you are probably better off with Linux than i am.
    I know, I was just testing to see what you would have recommended. I actually resolved that issue quite a long time ago. That, and the mono-gac package from the repositories works now.
     
         

Page 1 of 2 12 Last»

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •